Artist Interview | Shawanda Lynette Talks “30 Years Later” New Album Release

A few months ago, I attended an event at a local church.  One of the featured artist was Shawanda Lynette.  She took to the stage and I was thoroughly impressed.  She rocked that stage and yet, came off so humble and genuine in her performance.  I mean Shawanda wasn’t up there for show.  She was there because this is the gift God gave her and so she is going to use it to give Him glory, while serving up some great music!  Shawanda has this youthful neo-soul groove about her and her music.  Embedded in elements of R&B/Soul are messages that inspire and encourages others to let go of your inhibitions and be the best you God created you to be!  I must admit, that I wasn’t expecting Shawanda to be as good as she was that night!  Truly capturing me, I had to learn more about Shawanda, so I was able to connect with her and grab an interview.

Shawanda Lynette released her album “30 Years Later” on August 4, 2012.  I was able to attend her album release concert on that same day and was wowed yet again!  The energy in that room was amazing, we really enjoyed ourselves! It is with no reservations that Shawanda Lynette is well on her way to being a great artist! Check out the interview below and get into the footage from the release concert.

|| Artist Interview ||

1. Who is Shawanda Lynette and why should she be on our radar?
I am authentic, sincere, honest, motivated, determined, helpful. I love God. I love my family. I love to write and sing and I believe that my music inspires and will help people to be all that they were created to be.

2. What was the inspiration for the title of the album?
The title of the album came to me one day while we ( My brother and I) were at the studio.  I though it sounded cool at first but when I really thought about it, the songs that I was writing and the stuff that was coming out of my heart was a reflection of how I really felt in my 30th year of life. The lyrics have become what I know to be true and what I believe.

3. Who are you musical influences?
I love Ledisi, P.J Morton, Aretha Franklin, Earth Wind & Fire and Mary J Blige, to name a few 🙂  My Dad and my brother have influenced me a lot musically as well.

4. How would you describe the sound of 30 Years Later?
I’d say that it’s a fresh, motivating type of sound. It’s inspirational with a neo- soul vibe. It’s a lot of things fused into one but basically, it’s just good music!

5. What was your experience like creating this album?
It was a lot harder than I thought it would be. The process really caused me to mature. It was really a point where I had to decide if this (music and writing) was what I really wanted to do. I put my all into it. I was intentionally honest when writing and I didn’t hold anything back. Working with my brother was really cool. He created all of the music and helped with some vocal arranging. Throughout the process he was hard on me but that’s what I needed.  As a result, we put together a cool album. We are proud of our accomplishment. 🙂

6. Favorite song/most personal song from the album?
I think it depends on the day, all of the songs are personal. I wrote each of them and they are all an expression of my heart. If I had to choose I would say Beautiful and Here I Am.

7. What would you like the listener to come away with after hearing your album?
I’d like for the listener to be inspired, reassured that everything is ok. Be prompted to live out their dreams, follow their heart and live life to the fullest.

Please support and purchase “30 Years Later” available on ShawandaLynette.com Connect with Shawanda Lynette and let her know your thoughts! Twitter: @ShawandaLynette | Facebook: ShawandaLynette | Youtube: Shawanda Lynette

2 thoughts on “Artist Interview | Shawanda Lynette Talks “30 Years Later” New Album Release

  1. Reblogged this on and commented:
    Check out Shawanda Lynette’s interview with LaTashia Atkinson on ichoosegospel.com

  2. I attended this concert and thought it was absolutely terrific. From the venue to the people in the venue. What a terrific affair. Loved it.

Leave a Reply

