Colton Dixon – Keeps The Faith On American Idol

In what some may say is the true “shocker” of American Idol season 11 eliminations, last night we said farewell to Colton Dixon. He first came to our attention when he auditioned next to his sister, Schyler, in Season 10.  He was cut from the competition show failing to make it into the Top 24.  Colton Dixon, having no intentions to audition, returned once again in support of his sister hoping to make her Idol dreams come true.  The judges insisted on having Colton try out this year, so with the coaxing he joined his sister once more in auditioning. This time Colton made it all the way to coming in seventh place, before being eliminated in a shocking decision by voters *coughtheproducerscough*.

I am a fan Colton Dixon and him sharing his faith in an uncompromising way on a national television show is what kept me glued to the show….well that and the fact that I find him very cute! It’s no secret that mainstream television America doesn’t particularly like folks on its shows being all religious.  Though that premise is changing  with popular people like Jeremy Lin, Tim Tebow, the late Whitney Houston and countless others.

Colton Dixon made no effort to hide his faith and belief in Christ, making sure that he choose songs that not only made a connection to his personality and artistry but also to his faith.  Even if it wasn’t a gospel/CCM song, a lot of his song choices could easily make connections to God, especially in the way that Colton would deliver the songs.  It was like he would give the lyrics new meaning and have you thinking, this could have actually been a gospel song.  At one point it was even suggested that AI producers warned Colton to “cool it” and “tone it down” on all of his religious innuendoes.  Colton actually cleared that up and said that “the show’s producers sent all the contestants a “word of warning” that religious or political tweets might cost them votes, he said the show had been very supportive of his faith throughout the competition.”- HuffingtonPost

Now for me it was a surprise that on Wednesday nights episode Colton decided to sing Bad Romance by Lady Gaga.  I felt that it was a departure from his strategy for choosing songs that better suited him and his faith and I was turned off by it, but at the same time I also understood the choice.  I didn’t expect every song choice to gospel/inspirational and I think it would be unfair for others as well.  To me the performance  came off underwhelming and just not one of my favorites from him. Upon his elimination Colton has spoken out about his feelings on deciding to go with Bad Romance and the after effects: “I’ve taken pride in knowing who I am and really taking a stance in my faith. I  think in choosing ‘Bad Romance’ I turned off a lot of those voters, which are my  core voters,” Colton told us. “I’m sorry that I got caught up in the musicality of the performance this week instead of what it should have been, which is the  connection to a song that I normally bring every week.”-( catch more of that interview here –> Eonline.com Interview )

It is that humility towards God, his family, friends and his fans, that I believe will carry Colton on.  This isn’t the last that we’ve seen nor heard from Colton Dixon.  I am proud of the work he’s done.  I am inspired by his committment to do what God would have him to do, and to do it faithfully always giving God the glory no matter the platform.  I was amazed at his first performance of Lifehouse’s “Everything”.  I believe many at first didn’t “get it” but as Colton was allowed to sing his farewell song, he choose to do Everything once more, this time making it clear to us, to whom he belongs and is working on behalf for! To God be All the Glory!

2 thoughts on “Colton Dixon – Keeps The Faith On American Idol

  1. So glad ’cause he’s a christian!!!

Leave a Reply

