27th Annual Stellar Gospel Music Awards Recap!!

This past weekend I had the awesome opportunity to attend the 27th Annual Stellar Gospel Music Awards live taping, in Nashville, TN.  It was an amazing weekend packed with events celebrating gospel music and its artists and affiliates! I was afforded the opportunity through winning a sweepstakes from BlackAtlas.com.

The Stellars returned to The Grand Ole Opry for the live taping. I think in the back of my mind, I was expecting to go and watch a “show/concert” type of event, but was quickly reminded that this was being taped as a television show for airing on a later date. So all of the stop and go, pauses and all of the behind the scene stuff you don’t see on TV when these types of shows are aired, was weird, yet cool to witness.  I truly enjoyed myself and will make attending the Stellar Weekend a yearly ritual!

The Stellar Award show will begin airing nationally on February 11, 2012 on the Gospel Music Channel (GMC). Local channel air dates are listed on the Official Website: TheStellarAwards.com. I can’t wait to see how the show comes together after the edits and all!  Hosted by Dorinda Clark Cole and Pastor Marvin Sapp, you will see amazing performances from William McDowell, Kirk Franklin, Martha Munizzi, LeAndria Johnson, Da Truth, James Fortune and FIYA, Ricky Dillard & New G, Richard Smallwood and Vision, Earnest Pugh, Canton Jones and so many more!

It took me a minute to actually soak in the fact that I was in the company of so many of my favorite gospel artists and such! I had the pleasure of meeting Jessica Reedy, Da Truth, Dorinda Clark Cole, Pastor Marvin Sapp, Dorothy Norwood, Tedashii (116 Clique), Roosevelt Griffin (BET’s Sunday Best, Season 4), Keno Greer (Street Sermonz Radio DJ), Neechy (WordNetwork, Neechy TV and Radio), and John P. Kee. I didn’t get to speak to my girls, but I did see Angel and Chanelle of Trin-i-tee 5:7, as well as Rance Allen, Lecrae- right before he performed, LeAndria Johnson- after her performance, and Mathew Knowles walked by me like 3-4 times! I was tempted to stop him and be like “Hey, we need to talk Sir!”

Yes, I had an excellent time, shoutout to Bonnerfide Radio and Urban Soul Cafe for the events they had. I got to see some amazing performances from artists like: Da Truth, Canton Jones, Viktory,  Willie “P-Dub” Moore Jr, JJ Hairston, Charles Butler and Trinity, Denise and Doobie Powell, John P. Kee, Swoope, Young Noah, Flame, V. Rose, Tonya Baker and many others! I came away from those two events with a greater appreciation for independent artists and their music. I will be adding to my collection for the next few months! I also really enjoyed how everyone I met, hugged or shook hands with was so humble and nice. There was no “I’m a celebrity and better than you” attitudes! We were all there, because we love Christ and we love gospel music!

So start making your plans to attend The Stellars next year; I know I’ll be there! You can check out some pictures from the Stellar Awards HERE and remember to check out the website to see a complete list of the 2012 Stellar Award winners, and tune into GMC for the first national airing on Feb. 11, 2012. Follow me on Twitter so we can chat while watching!!

2 thoughts on “27th Annual Stellar Gospel Music Awards Recap!!

  1. Youre so cool! I dont suppose Ive read anything like this before. So nice to search out somebody with some unique thoughts on this subject. realy thanks for beginning this up. this web site is one thing that is needed on the internet, someone with a little bit originality. useful job for bringing one thing new to the internet!

  2. I’m reminicing on Stellars 2012, as we prepare for Stellars 2013………….I still haven’t seen a video of Canton Jones and Viktory do that one song that they did adhoc and it was the bomb..CJ went in on it! I listened to the original song after i got home and it didn’t even compare, that was a great moment… (“Go” … “If he holler Ima GO.. I’m gone…”), they should think about doing a remix and having CJ collab on it, lol, just my little 2 cents…

Leave a Reply

